DIY Bike Repair Stand Thoughts

I was just thinking of ways to improve this stand. With the towel wrapped around the seat post, the bike can twist (not ideal). I tried using some foam pipe insulation that I had laying around but that didn’t do much…

 

I am trying to find some sort of rubber (maybe a old bike tube) that I could use that is not smooth and would “catch” the seat post. I am thinking I might just have to go riding more to get a new tube or take a visit to the LBS to see if they have any laying around.

 

Any ideas about what I could use?

4 comments on “DIY Bike Repair Stand Thoughts

  1. CultFit says:

    Old bike tube tube mate! Cheap and easy.

  2. lou says:

    you might try the rubber pads in the vice, but also consider removing a quarter to a half inch of wood from the inside flat surface to get more grip.

Leave a Reply

